Wellington Regional Medical Center Receives an "A" Rating from Leapfrog Group for Patient Safety for Second Consecutive Cycle

Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wellington regional Medical Center Receives an "A" Rating from Leapfrog Group for Patient Safety for Second Consecutive Cycle

Wellington Regional Medical Center has once again been named an ‘A’ hospital for patient safety from The Leapfrog Group’s Fall 2019 Hospital Safety Grade. This is the second consecutive cycle that Wellington Regional has earned the highest rating from the independent review group.

The designation recognizes Wellington Regional’s efforts in protecting patients from harm and providing safer healthcare. The Leapfrog Group is a national nonprofit organization committed to improving healthcare quality and safety for consumers and purchasers. The Safety Grade assigns an ‘A’, ‘B’, ‘C’, ‘D’ or ‘F’ grade to hospitals across the country based on their performance in preventing medical errors, injuries, accidents, infections and other harms to patients in their care.

“Wellington Regional Medical Center has identified quality and patient safety as our top priority and the recognition from the Leapfrog Group is an indication of our commitment to our patients and community to provide quality healthcare,” said Pam Tahan, CEO, Wellington Regional Medical Center. “We are thrilled once again to be rated an A from one of the top review organizations in the country.”

Developed under the guidance of a national expert panel, the Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade uses 28 measures of publicly available hospital safety data to assign grades to more than 2,600 U.S. acute-care hospitals twice per year. The Hospital Safety Grade’s methodology is peer-reviewed and fully transparent, and the results are free to the public.

“‘A’ hospitals show us their leadership is protecting patients from preventable medical harm and error,” said Leah Binder, president and CEO of The Leapfrog Group. “It takes genuine commitment at every level – from clinicians to administrators to the board of directors — and we congratulate the teams who have worked so hard to earn this A.”